Views: 16127 (Data available since 06.02.2017)
Web Messenger enables the intranet users stay connected, communicate
with colleagues and get informed of the new events right in the browser window.
- Web Messenger at its core is almost the same as any other similar service or
application: the users communicate by exchanging instant messages;
- the contact list reflects the company structure and indicates the contact status
(online / offline);
- the notification center shows information on the new events;
- a user gets notified of new messages anywhere on the intranet, on any page;
- messages can be sent to offline users for later delivery;
- messaging history is saved on server side and can be accessed and viewed by
the users anytime, anywhere (see below).
All unread notifications and messages are relayed to the
user's e-mail address. For example, if for some reason you are not logged in
but there is a new task notification or an instant message in your messenger,
you will be notified by e-mail within 10 minutes.
A stand alone application for Windows and Mac OS X is also available. Once
configured, it will connect to your intranet without having to log in every time
you want to use it.
The mini-panel can be repositioned and pinned at one of the following
places in the browser window:
The panel includes two buttons each showing the number of unread messages or
The messenger window includes the two main areas: the Contacts list on the
left and the Conversation pane on the right.
The Contacts list always contains all of the company employees grouped
following the company structure. If a current user is a member of one of the extranet workgroups, these will be included in the contacts.
New employees will appear in the contact list as soon as they appear in the
intranet company structure.
At the bottom of the contact list you will find the messenger control bar:
The status indicator opens a menu enabling a user to select the desired
status. The Occupied status does not imply that Wall Street is occupied;
rather, it means "Do not disturb": the notification bar will show the
number of new messages but they will not pop up every time they arrive.
opens the configuration menu:
- Show offline users / Hide offline users: shows or hides users
who are not logged in;
- Show user groups / Hide user groups: if you select to show user groups,
the contact list will show the company structure; all users will be shown
assigned to their respective departments;
- Enable sounds/Disable sounds: disable sound if you feel annoyed.
Searching the Contacts
To quickly find a required user, start typing their last or first name in the
search edit box. Instant search feature will filter the list as you type and
show the result:
To start the conversation, just click in the contact list on a person you
want to talk to.
Offline users are highlighted with red color in the conversation pane and
contact list. Feel free to send a message to an offline user as you would send
it if the user were online: your message will be delivered as soon as the user
has logged in. Any offline message, like a normal online message, is always
added to the messaging history.
To find your most recent contacts, click the Recent button.
To quote the contact's message text in your reply, hover the mouse pointer
over the required message. The quote button
will appear. Click it to add the formatted quote text to your reply.
Note: you can change between Ctrl+Enter and Enter to
send messages. To toggle keystrokes, click the text below the message send
button ("Ctrl+Enter", see the picture above). To change the
reply input box height, drag the top edge of the input box.
To view previous conversations, click Message History button
in the upper right corner of the messenger window.
To search message history, click the Enable search
link in the upper right of the history window. Then, start typing the search
phrase in the search text box. The history window will show only the entries
containing the text you typed. To completely purge the messaging history for the
contact you're viewing, click Delete all messages.
Notification Center provides you with a unified view of any events
sent to you: messages from other intranet users; invitations to join a workgroup
or attend a meeting; new likes from other people; task updates etc. The users
who have extranet access will get notified of any new updates occurring in the
extranet area. The notifications appear in the upper right corner of any
intranet web page:
To view notification history, bring up the notification window by clicking
the notification bar button or the button in the messenger window (see the
picture below). In the notification window, click Viewed notifications:
Desktop Client Application for Windows and Mac OS X
If all you want is stay connected, you can save the trouble of logging in
every time you have to read or send a message.
- Open the Free Apps page,
download the installation package for your operating system and install it.
- Once the application has installed, run it by double-clicking the program
icon on the Desktop.
- When you start the application for the first time, you will see the
authentication window (it will also show up if the program cannot authenticate
on the intranet server). Enter the URL of your intranet; the e-mail address
you used for registration at the intranet; and the password you regularly use
to log in:
- The desktop client can be minimized to the system notification area
(previously known on Windows as the system tray):
The window, panes and bars inside the desktop application are absolutely
analogous to those of the web messenger:
However, the desktop client includes some extra options:
The notification icon menu includes even more features:
- Activity Stream: opens the intranet's Activity Stream in your browser;
- User_Name command: opens the current user's intranet profile;
- Exit: closes the current session and logs out from the intranet
- The Messages, Notifications and Activity Stream menu
items show the number of unread events, if any exist. Select the respective
menu item to read them.
- To see the client version and check for updates, select About.
- Use the Logout and Exit menu items to end the authenticated
session, or close the application.